Pennsylvania medical malpractice laws
The following standards govern medical malpractice suits in Pennsylvania:
Statute of Limitations
Medical malpractice actions must be brought within 2 years of the date of the original injury, or the date the plaintiff first discovered the injury.
Pennsylvania does not limit compensatory damage awards. However, punitive damages may not be awarded except when the malpractice was a result of deliberate misconduct or reckless disregard. Punitive damages may not exceed 200% of compensatory damages unless intentional misconduct is found.
Joint Defendant Liability
In the state of Pennsylvania more than one defendant can be named in a medical malpractice case; therefore, liability can be divided proportionately among all defendants. This does not apply if one defendant is found to be 60% or more at fault, or if a defendant is found guilty of deliberate misconduct.
Attorneys must file certificates of merit regarding the qualifications of expert witnesses they wish to use. Experts must be actively engaged in practice or teaching in their field or retired less than five years. The court may waive these requirements if the expert provides sufficient evidence of his or her qualifications.
Pennsylvania - News Articles
Last week, it was announced that the state Supreme Court of Pennsylvania would discuss whether or not to overturn a law that allows defendants in medical malpractice lawsuits to avoid prosecution based on “error in judgment”. The decision came as Stephen and Nicole Passarello were granted a new trial after their original lawsuit was dismissedRead More
In April 2014, while under the care of Whitestone Care Center, Edward Arnold allegedly broke several bones in his body and came down with pneumonia. Arnold, 70-years-old at the time, was at the Whitestone nursing home, located in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, for only twenty days. According to a medical malpractice lawsuit, filed on behalf of hisRead More